3 dogs, 5 cats and 2 mini pigs
Please note: Omaha residents may apply for a pet avocation permit which allows up to 5 dogs and up to 6 cats – but no more than 8 pets total. An initial inspection fee of $100 is required at the time of application. An annual $50 permit fee is required thereafter. Pet Avocation Permit applications are available at the Nebraska Humane Society and may be picked up at the front desk during business hours.
Dogs and cats
Mini pigs must be blood tested by the age of eight weeks to ensure that the animal is not carrying pseudorabies or brucellosis. Please refer to the Mini Pigs section below for additional vaccination requirements.
Every three years. The longest duration vaccination allowed in Omaha is good for three years. However, animals must always be current. Therefore, if you opt for a shorter duration shot, you must update appropriately.
Yes, by city ordinance you must clean up after your pet.
Dogs in Omaha are required to be on leash or confined in a yard at all times. There currently is no leash law for cats. Dogs and cats that are not microchipped are required to wear collars and tags.
Yes, it is illegal to pit animals against each other in the city of Omaha. Additionally it is a violation of state law and is punishable by fines and jail time.
Yes, it is illegal for your dog to bark uninterrupted and disturb neighbors. If your dog is creating a nuisance, Animal Control has the authority to remove your dog from your property to abate the nuisance. You then are required to impound out your dog, subject to all fees and fines incurred.
It is illegal for dogs to be transported in open pickup truck beds unless they are confined in a crate or anchored with cross ties. It also is illegal to transport a live animal in the trunk of an automobile.
Any person who allows the breeding of a cat or dog (either intentionally or accidentally) is required to obtain a breeders permit for a $100 fee. If the offspring and mother are taken to the Nebraska Humane Society for disposition, no fee is required. If the owner has the mother spayed within three months of producing a litter, the $100 fee is refunded.
Dogs cannot be tied up outside (unattended) for more than 15 minutes at a time. The dog can be tied up outside longer than 15 minutes if there is an adult age 19 or older present.
If you own a pit bull or mix of the following dogs: Pit bull, American Staffordshire Terrier, Staffordshire Bull Terrier, American Bulldog, Presa Canario, Dogo Argentina, or Cane Corso, you will be required to properly leash and muzzle your dog whenever he is outside, unless he is in a securely fenced yard. If you don’t have a fenced yard, your dog will be required to be leashed, muzzled, and in control of a person 19 years of age or older any time he is outside. *Exceptions are dogs that qualify for the Breed Ambassador Program.
In Omaha, pet ordinances are listed under Chapter 6 of the city’s municipal code. For a complete look at Chapter 6, click here for the City of Omaha website.
Only two mini pigs are allowed per residential dwelling. Mini pigs living within the city limits or in the area within three miles of the city limits may not weigh more than 200 pounds.
Mini pigs must be spayed or neutered within 30 days after attaining three months of age.
Mini pigs are required to be licensed by March 15th every year. The cost to license a mini pig is $35. License payments received after the March 15th deadline may be subject to a late fee of $50 in addition to any applicable license fees.
If a mini pig is acquired by an owner after March 15th, a license must be purchased within 30 days of acquiring the pet.
If an owner of a mini pig becomes a resident of the city after March 15th, he must purchase a license within 30 days of establishing residency.
Every mini pig living within the city limits or in the area within three miles of the city limits must be vaccinated, by a veterinarian licensed to practice in the state and certified to treat livestock by the state department of agriculture, for the following diseases. Mini pigs are required to be blood tested by the age of eight weeks to ensure that the pig is not carrying pseudorabies or brucellosis. Proof of testing will be required to license.