Licensing your pet is one of the best ways to ensure that if he strays or she gets lost, they come back home to you. It is also the law in most metro area communities. Below is a quick reference guide to pet licensing requirements in each metro community.
Please Note: License fees are a non-refundable city fee. A $5 processing fee will be charged on all licensing transactions (including in-person payments made at NHS).
A grace period has been established for 2019 through January 31, 2019, for payments made in-person at the Nebraska Humane Society. If pet owners would like to pay in person and have the $5.00 processing fee waived, they must license their pet(s) at the Nebraska Humane Society prior to 7 PM on January 31, 2019.
The deadline to license your pet is March 15 of each year. If you move to the area or acquire a pet after that date, you should license your pet within 30 days of adopting or arriving in the jurisdiction.
Service Animals cannot be licensed online. Please download the service animal documentation form below. You also will need to complete the license application for your jurisdiction (click on your city above to download the form). Please deliver the forms in person to the Nebraska Humane Society or mail them to: Nebraska Humane Society, Attn: Pet License Dept., 8929 Fort Street, Omaha, NE 68134
If you have additional questions regarding pet licensing, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org or call 402-444-6716.